Nikon D3200

I don’t have the D3200 but it is two steps ahead of my D3000 that I have. For someone that is just starting out in photography, I do recommend this camera for any starter. With a 24.2 megapixel sensor, This is good for portraits because in my book the more megapixels the camera has the better chances are that when you blow the portrait up, it won’t be that much pixelated. This camera like mine has all the same buttons but has more features like the added HD 1080p video.

I’m going to compare the D5100 and the D3200. The thing that draws me in to the camera is the video use and how many megapixels there are. Now there are more megapixels in the D3200 then in the D5100 and they both shoot video but when shooting for picture then that’s when the D5100 gets an advantage and I’ll tell you why. The D5100 has a swivel screen which allows you to get low and high shots plus to add to that you don’t need to get a protective screen for it because you can swivel the screen where it’s facing the camera and with this it’s protected. But don’t let this fool you. You get better quality on the D3200 with it’s 24.2 megapixel sensor. The other thing that the D5100 has over the D3200 is that the D5100 can do the exposure bracketing while the D3200 doesn’t.

All together, I would just recommend the Nikon D3200 for the person that is just strating out in photography. But I will recommend also the D5100, if your the person that takes photo’s in a way where you can’t get with the D3200, with swivel screen.

For more information on these two camera’s you can go to http://www.nikonusa.com/Nikon-Products/Digital-SLR-Cameras/index.page

About Justin Hornsby

I am a student at Gwinnett Tech. I am currently in commercial photography just starting semester 2. I mostly do nature photography but I also do other kinds of photography just to keep things interesting.

Posted on May 1, 2012, in photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment